Front Page
     Subscription Info
     Letter To The Editor
     Local Links
     Question of the Week
     Contact Us

13 participating in annual DYW event


Advocate staff report
Montgomery County’s Distinguished Young Woman Program will be held 6 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 12 in the Montgomery County High School Auditorium.

Participants and their talents include: Haleigh Stull, vocal; Janna Godby, dance; Kim Lopez, guitar; Benton Patrick, dance; Delaney Bromagen, monologue; Micah Ledford, ukulele and vocal; Adia Jouett, dance; Shelby Russell, piano; Macey Tipton, dance; Karisma Keeton, vocal; Alex Walker, slam poetry; Hannah Fulks, dance; Miciah Bishop, piano and vocal.

Summer Taylor, Montgomery County’s 2017 DYW, will hand off her title to one of the above participants.

The support from local businesses and individuals will allow for more than $9,000 in cash scholarships that will be paid directly to the college the winner chooses to attend next fall.

Categories include interview (25 percent), scholastics (25 percent), self-expression (15 percent), talent (20 percent)and fitness (15 percent). Two preliminary winner scholarships are given in each category along with four runners-up and the overall winner.

The winner will receive a $2,000 scholarship sponsored by Berryman’s. The local winner will participate at the state level in January for a chance to compete at the national level in June of 2018.

For tickets for this year’s program, email Chelsea Coleman at montgomeryky@distinguishedyw.org.